In June, Oregon became the fourth state to enact a paid sick leave law, following California, Connecticut and Massachusetts. The new statewide law takes effect January 1, 2016, and requires nearly all Oregon employers with 10 or more employees — the threshold is six employees for employers in Portland, regardless of where in the state their employees work — to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year. Employers with nine or fewer employees — or fewer than six in Portland — must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave per year.
Oregon’s new law also preempts local jurisdictions from passing their own paid sick leave laws. Thus, Eugene’s paid sick leave law, which was scheduled to take effect January 1, 2016, will be formally repealed on that date. And although there has been no official word from Portland, the city’s paid sick leave law, which is already in effect, is expected to be repealed as well.
The map below shows states, and states with localities, that have paid sick leave laws, as well as states that have enacted bans prohibiting local governments from enacting such laws. Covered employers in states and localities with paid sick leave laws should review and revise their leave and other relevant policies to ensure they are in compliance and that their payroll records properly track the accrual and use of sick leave.
Click to enlarge